Our Governors

The Governing Body plays an active role within the school, meeting regularly to provide both challenge and support in their role as a “critical friend”.

Being a Governor of a small village school brings special challenges and commitment to support the school’s leadership team. Governors are very supportive of the school, devoting time to their formal commitments and to participating in the life of the school. 

The Full Governing Body meets at least every half term and there are active sub committees  that also meet regularly.

Individual governors additionally take on responsibility for specific areas e.g. Safeguarding. In this ‘Link Governor’ role, they carry out learning walks, pupil voice surveys and discuss the School Development Plan with subject leaders.

The Governing Body is committed to the continuous improvement in the overall quality of education, including improvements to facilities, buildings, IT and the school infrastructure.

The Governing Body brings together the professional skills and experience from its members. An effective Governing Body is an essential part of the School’s leadership and management team.

 If you would like more information about the work of the Governing Body, please contact our Chair of Governors, Mrs Carole Connelly. 

Name  Role 
Mrs Carole Connelly
Chair of Governors 
Mr Mick Bell 
Vice Chair of Governors
Chair of Finance, Personnel and Premises Committee
Mr Leo Scarborough 
Vice Chair of Resources 
Mrs Heather Tisbury
Safeguarding Governor / SEND Governor 
Mrs Gemma Williams 
Mr Richard Jones
Rev'd John Russell 
Ex-Officio b Diocese of St Albans
Mrs Sarah Wickens 
Mrs Debby Lilley 
Teacher Governor
Clerk to Governing Body :  Mrs Caroline Greening